HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Posted on


Each Vietnam veteran has at least one thing for which to be thankful.  We are here to celebrate the day.  Too many of our brothers and sisters did not make it, and even far more have passed since those years.  There are perhaps one third of us left for this holiday.

It may seem out of place, this day not being a military-related holiday, but I am thankful for our active military duty personnel around the country and around the world, and my fellow veterans.  I recall the two Thanksgivings spent away from family and friends.  I was thankful then for the brothers with whom I shared that holiday.

Of course, special thanks are in order for those who served in the 20th and 172nd Preventive Medicine Units in Vietnam.  Awareness of our existence was near zero during the war, and few outside of our veterans know of the units today.  Still, there is no way to estimate how many illnesses, and how many deaths, we helped our troops to avoid.  I suspect the numbers would be far greater than the tiny size of our units might suggest.

Happy Thanksgiving, my brothers and sisters!

9 thoughts on “HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    Ed Saugstad said:
    11/22/2018 at 8:01 am

    Thanks for posting this, Gerry!

      Gerry Ellenson responded:
      11/23/2018 at 5:31 am

      You are more than welcome, boss. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving day!

        Ed Saugstad said:
        11/23/2018 at 7:46 am

        We enjoyed a ‘pot luck’ Thanksgiving with a bunch of caving friends at Lost World Caverns near Lewisburg WV!

        Gerry Ellenson responded:
        11/24/2018 at 5:41 am

        Sounds like fun. We stayed home and pigged out on football and turkey. Quiet day.

    Ed Saugstad said:
    11/24/2018 at 7:31 am

    Is there a way to post images on this blog?

      Gerry Ellenson responded:
      11/26/2018 at 5:44 am

      Nothing that isn’t complicated. Let me noodle on a solution. Posting pics requires they be uploaded to a “media” section of the admin tools, and then added to an existing post (most of the sections are actually posts, not pages, to which I keep adding). I have been remiss in adding some photos you sent me, in large part because I somehow tangled the descriptions for each. I could give you admin access and you could toy around attempting to add pics to the “readers’ photos’ section. Probably the easiest for you would be to email pics to me one at a time with the description. If I already have the pic, I may use it because I’ve enhanced some. There would be a learning curve to using admin tools, but I’m willing if you are.

        Ed Saugstad said:
        11/26/2018 at 12:04 pm

        Sounds good…

        Gerry Ellenson responded:
        12/03/2018 at 5:16 am

        Ed,

        Did you want to try the admin route? If not, I’ll PM you my email address.

        Ed Saugstad said:
        12/03/2018 at 6:01 am

        Hi Gerry – email is fine; mine should be attached to this message.
        Cheers,
        Ed

Please Leave a Comment